What I’ve Learned About Life And Learning

Caren Whitehouse received her Associate’s Degree from the University of Evansville in 1977 and returned to Oakland City University for her Bachelor of Science in Organization Management degree in 2001. 

Caren Sitting Photo 2

She is currently the Executive Director of the Vanderburgh County Medical Society in Evansville, Indiana and active in the Rotary Club of Evansville, the Indiana Cancer Coalition, the Community Advisory Board for the Indiana University School of Medicine – Evansville and her church.  Ms. Whitehouse completed the Richard G. Lugar Series for Excellence in Public Service in 2008 and is currently a Commissioner on the Indiana Commission for Higher Education. 

I believe the saying is true that “nothing you do is ever wasted”.  Every lesson you learn, whether in an educational setting or in life, is valuable.

When I was contemplating going back to school and finishing my Bachelors’ Degree, several questions came to mind:

  1. I wondered if I could get credit for the experience that I had in my career, my volunteer work, my reading – and what I had learned in life (both good and bad!)
  1. How could I possibly “retrain” myself to learn again, take tests, write papers?

This is what I learned about life and learning and what I now know for sure:

  • If you finish your education, you will more than likely be more marketable – which will translate into more income (as it did for me).
  • Busy people get more done and you will find the time to do things that are important to you.
  • Visualize where you will be when you have your degree and keep your focus on that goal.
  • Find a friend or supporter who will not allow you to quit. There will be times when you are overwhelmed and you will want to quit.  Tell your supporter not to let you do that.  Tell them that you will beg and cry and plead with them, but they still should ask you to wait “just a little bit longer” before you can quit.  And then you will be past the crises and will finish.
  • Give yourself a countdown to completion. Put it on your smartphone or your calendar.  Cross off each day that you are one step closer to your goal.
  • Get to know a financial aid counselor and apply for every bit of financial aid that is available to you.
  • Find a mentor who will encourage you every step of the way.

Now this is where the “relearning how to learn” and life experience comes in:  try to test out of or receive credit for the things you already know.  I tested out of 6 hours of Humanities (through CLEP testing) by taking the practice test to see what areas I needed to brush up on.  I knew most of the answers from years of watching Sesame Street with my children, reading the Arts and Entertainment Section of Time and Newsweek magazine, and watching Bugs Bunny Cartoons.  Yes, Bugs Bunny did a lot of spoofs of famous operas – and he nailed it.  That is how I knew the plots for the opera questions.  You know more than you think you do!

Do not fear getting back into learning – you are learning something new everyday already!  Think about it.  Got a new smartphone?  You’ve got to learn how to use it.  Driving a rented car?  You have to relearn where everything is.  Is there some new music you like?  You’ve got to learn the lyrics if you are going to sing along!  J

All kidding aside, you can do this!  You can do this now!  Truly time is ticking away and this is your real life, it is not the “dress rehearsal”.  This is your time and everything that you need is already available to you.

Go for it!  You will be so glad you did!!

 

Leave a comment